Oleg Volk, a gun owner's hero

Soapbox is a forum for people to comment on current events and culture.

Moderator: Doc@The-Armory

scottc

Oleg Volk, a gun owner's hero

Post by scottc » Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:21 pm

Many of you may not know who Oleg Volk is. But my significant other who works next to me at the store every Friday night has talked with this man for over a year. His story is an inspirational one and can be found on his website http://www.a-human-right.com He is a graphic designer by trade, and a gun owner by birthright. Read his story and look at the graphics he has made over the years. My avatar is one of the many graphics he has produced.

One of my favorite quotes from his site talks about why gun control will never be successful in the United States. I only hope he is correct.

"The main indication that gun control in America has failed is the fact that its supporters are still alive. Millions of people who have invested in arms, training and lobbying in response to past restrictive legislation have no plans to surrender. If gun control efforts begin to infringe significantly on their ability to fight in the future, those who wish to disarm others will be killed.

The reason for such a blunt statement is that being a gun owner is made up of two components: posession of a weapon and posession of skills and training. One can surrender a gun but not the training.

That skill is the gun-banner's problem. It means that a person trained to use weapons will be able to make use of guns acquired in the future. He would also have a strong motivation to avenge the loss of his means of self-protection. Guns can be made, stolen, bought or taken off enemy casualties. Furthermore, tools other than guns can be used for offensive actions. A gun-banner would have to watch his back for the rest of his life.