AR15 Olympic Arms Plinker P... reviews

Global Rating: 4.58 from 19 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
New Plinker Plus (3/5) Apr 10, 2011 Jon Valentine Safety Harbor Fl US
  I am picking up my first Plinker tomorrow. The good reviews helped me make my decision to purchase. I am tired of the gun snobs out there who only like Colts or 45 ACP rounds and whatever. I have seen an out of the box High Point 45 ACP out shoot a custom 1911. I am also tired of the snobs who think the 45 ACP is the only round and that a 22 lr will just 'piss off' the attacker. I just wonder how 'pissed off' these snobs would be if someone dumped ten rounds of 22 LR into them. At times I carry a 22 semi auto hand gun and feel fine with it as a defensive weapon..I am not in combat for pete sake.
Great Entry Level AR15 (5/5) Mar 23, 2010 Don Henderson Pensacola FL US
  I purchased the Plinker Plus Carbine and love it. I wanted a K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid) rifle & iconic look. I love the fact the upper is really a A-2 (Brass deflector & F.A.(forward assist) with A-1 sights. Unless you plan to shoot outside of 200 yrds with iron sights, don't worry about A-2 sights. It's Just one more thing to break IMHO. You can mount a scope on the carry handle with fair results. I put 300 plus rounds in mine the first day out and no FTF or malfunctions ever. The fit between the upper and lower are very snug and match perfectly. The finish is nice and the machine work is perfect quality. My trigger is smooth, and breaks cleanly for a stock trigger. A-2 stock is your standard equipment, but can be changed out to anything you desire. I could almost cover my groups with a quarter shooting @ 50yds. The standard barrels are match grade and it shows. Olympic Arms is the second oldest manufacture of AR's and makes all parts in house. I'm very pleased with my Plinker Plus and suggest reading up on them at OA2.org site. Olympic Arms Owners Association and hear from actual owners. So if your want kiss and quality @ the best price? It's hard to beat this black rifle.
Customized Plinker Plus (5/5) Dec 5, 2009 Jim Williams Washington We US
  I purchased this base model Olympic Arms Plinker Plus AR-15 with the intent of adding some furniture to make it like I want it. I added a pick rail forearm, houge grip, CAA stock with adjustable cheek piece, harris bi-pod, and I had the upper switched out with an Olympic flat top. I also have two sets of optics that I switch back and forth a 2.5x10 target and a red dot scope. I did nothing with the trigger, barrel or any other major parts, mostly cosmetic. I could not believe how well this thing shoots. I have shot Remington, Hornady, Lake City, Federal, and hand loads ranging from 55 grain to 62 grain with no problems what so ever. I have ran roughly 1500 rounds of ammo through my Customized Pliner Plus and have never had one failure. My Plinker Plus will consistantly shoot sub MOA groups out at 200 yards. Most of my friends have Bushmasters, S&W's, and Remington R-15's but all of them love my Olympic had have more than once offered to buy or trade. Do not let the price fool you, Olympic is one of the few true AR-15 manufacturers and most others only purchase parts and assemble them with their name added to the rifle. Olympic has the best warranty available (Full $$ back 60 Day, and Full Lifetime). The fit and finish out of the box was excellant with no rattle between upper and lower. Most other AR-15's that I have been around sound like a baby toy when you shake them. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase and my next AR will also be an Olymopic.
Plinker (3/5) Feb 17, 2009 Todd Christian Gulfport mi US
  Did not like the A-1 sights, but perfect if you plan to add a scope
Durable (5/5) Dec 1, 2008 Phil Knowles Eagan MN US
  I've had this rifle for over 8 years and have had it misfire only a couple of times. Why? defective mags. Wolf ammo shoots well in it, as well as 5.56.
Very Good (4/5) Jun 2, 2008 Ozzie Garcia Tx US
  Rifle is reasonably accurate direct from the box. After the recommended break-in of 100 quality rounds (Fed. XM855 62gr), I fired 300 rounds of various types of ammunition at 75 - 200 yards, shots grouped well and consistant. The only ammo it did not like was surplus Norinco .223. Extractor would break the rim of the shell and would fail to remove the spent shell casing. Silver Bear HP 62gr, Remington fmjbt 62 gr, Winchester, Wolf, Federal, and Monarch worked flawlessly. This rifle is an excellent rifle for the price, and much more accurate than most semi-auto's on the market.
Love it (5/5) Mar 4, 2008 Jonathan Burlington No US
  Just got my plinker plus today and went out and fired 60 rounds through it no problems its a high quality rifle for a great price. also the damn thing is loud as hell.
Plinker is GREAT (5/5) Feb 21, 2008 P.W.Smith Silver Creek Ga US
  I just bought my first ar and choose the Olmypic Arms Plinker. Right out of the box I shot my first 3 shots from 25 yds and went to check my target to see what adjustments I needed to make. The answer was none I shot a group dead center that I could cover with a quarter.
I have only shot 100 rounds so far. But love the Plinker.
OLYMPIC ARMS PLINKER 16" (5/5) Jan 28, 2008 J.C. simmons Bella Vista ar US
  Great wepon. Very good value not to mention the price. I took this wepon out with absolutely no mods. With the A1 sights and out shot a bushmaster with an Eotec and laser. Highly recomended.
i love my plinker (5/5) Jan 13, 2008 Anonymous
  A great rifle, affordable, accurate , and reliable.
You're well armed with a 'plinker'.

Back to previous page

1 2