Kimber Custom TLE II 45 ACP reviews

Global Rating: 4.89 from 9 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

rating title date name city state/province country
Holy Kimber (5/5) Jun 24, 2012 Jack Graves Valrico Fl US
  I was able to cut the center out of a target at 25 yards with this TLE. This pistol makes a good shooter look amazing. This is my first Kimber and Im definately buying more from the Armory.
Wow! (5/5) Jan 16, 2012 Anonymous
  I have many 1911s in my safe, S&W E Series, Springfield's "Loaded" and "RO", Kimber Gold Match, Tactical Custom, TLE II, Sig "XO" and "STX". My Kimbers are always the gun I reach if for a match or to carry. All my other guns have had extensive custom work done only to render them"Kimber" quality. That says it all. I know that if I ever have to use my gun to save myself, my kimber is ready willing and more than able. It is simply the best for the price and competes well with much more expense "Match Customs" like my STI or Night Hawk. (If you don't believe, take a look at my trophy case) One can either try to bring another to "Kimber" standard or just buy the Kimber and be done. I choose the later over and over.
Kimber Custom II TLE/RL (5/5) Feb 17, 2011 Chris Virginia Beach Vi US
  I bought this pistol from The Armory shortly after returning from a detachment with my squadron. When I shot it for the first time I absolutely could not believe the quality of this handgun. This is the best shooting, smoothest, most crisp firearm I have ever had the priveledge of shooting. I was very pleased with the price and my Viridian X5L Laser/Light combo fits on the Picatinney rail very securely creating a very reliable, accurate weapon for home defense should the occasion ever arise.
TLE-II (5/5) Dec 15, 2008 Bill Bruni Dayton NV US
  Kimber: The right choice for bearing arms!

I have been shooting for over 30 years--Yes I'll admit to it!!

I have shot Wilson's, Early Gold Cups, Browns, & others...This Kimber product IS the best out of the box shooter I have ever used.

Fit & finish are unquestionably outstanding, accuracy and "feel" are superior. The key here is that very few shooters will ever achieve the skill level that would justify the expenditure of $2,500-$5,000+ that a Wilson or Heine top of the line pistol demands. For 99.99+ % of .45 shooters, the Kimber line provides "match level" products that are "more gun" than those purchasers will ever master.

20,000 rounds later, the Kimber TLE II that I have used for several years shoots 1.5 - 2.0 inch groups at 25 yards with Wolf steel jacket "trash" ammo. I have NEVER had a failure to feed or extract/eject that was ammunition attributable. The only "challenge"I had occurred when I did not fully seat a magazine in a competition---My bad!! There is no feeling quite like having the magazine drop out of the pistol in the middle of a string and hearing the "click" of a firing pin on an empty chamber!!

The solution to that was the purchase of 10 Wilson match series magazines.

Maintenance...??? Just change the recoil spring every 2,000 rounds and the firing pin & extractor springs every 5,000 rounds...Life is good!

Kimber has the right pistols, right features, right service at the right price AND they are built here in the USA; Providing well paid, well benefited jobs to us, the dual heirs of the 2nd Amendment and skills of John Browning.

Kimber, "right" in bearing arms.
Kimber ultra II (5/5) Sep 24, 2007 Douglas Lund Provo Ut US
  The Ultra II is my favorite of all the 1911 style guns I have. It is excellent in every way. I purchased the laser grips from the custom shop. It is very accurate for its size and short barrell.
I would not be without it.

Kimber Custom TLE II (5/5) Sep 13, 2007 Nathan tampa FL US
  Definitely worth the money; I shot tight groupings with this gun right out of the box at 25 yards. There is no need to spend over $1000 for a great 1911 this gun has it all.
Kimber Custom TLE II (4/5) Nov 9, 2005 john thurman oroville ca US
  as a licensed firearms dealer, i see quite a few 1911's of various brands quite often. as a consumer, and someone whos had a long standing love affair with John Moses Browning's original design,there was no question about what i was going to carry on my CCW permit when i got it. it had to be a full size 1911, and it had to be in black,not stainless. i decided that, since it ( the 1911) was going to be something i may someday have to rely n to save my life, i wanted to find the most reliable and most accurate 1911 i could on the market without totally breaking the bank. this is were the Kimber Custom TLE II came in. very accurate, fit and finish were extremely good, it came with Meprolite night sights,etc. i purchased one of these and never looked back. the only complaint that i have with the kimbers is the finish. Kimber's 'Black Oxide" finish is actually a sort of a "plating" .i spoke to kimber extensively on the subject. the custom sho told me that, to apply the finish, the parts are suspended in a solution that, when electricity is applied, plates the parts with the "Black Oxide" (im glad i got into it with them, as i found out that the frame of the TLE II,while appearing to be made from the same materials as the slide, is actually made of Stainless Steel, which can be a good thing, as well as a bad thing ( frame wears like stainless steel, but in the eventuality that you may want to "touch up" the wear on it with some sort of "cold bluing" it wont work). the gun had digested everything ive ever stuffed in it (i also converted it to the powerhouse 45 super for a sidearm in bear country) with only 2 FTF's ( in the 45 super department)....................i give the Kimber Custom TLE II 4 stars. fit,accuracy,configuration,etc on the kimber rates the 4 stars, but the finish detracts from the overall rating. if not for that, this would be a 10 sart gun for sure!
Director of Information Technology (5/5) Oct 26, 2005 Carl Graves Huntington We US
  I have a Kimber Custom TLE II and shoot in IPSC and IDPA and have shoot many brands of ammo through my Kimber. It shot accurate right out of the box. Now after 1 year and 13,000 rounds it is still doing a fine job. I would reccomend this 45 to anybody.
Kimber Custom TLE II (5/5) Aug 31, 2005 Chris San Antonio Tx US
  Best 1911 that can be had for the money! Extremely accurate right out of the box, and it'll eat any type of ammo I feed it. Couldn't be happier with mine!

Back to previous page